Gulags, Gaza and Pararoos

The best of Breakfast  – 21 to 24 July

A big week for meaty stories with Gaza, the Indonesian elections and the MH17 disaster taking much of Breakfast’s air time.

We covered these big stories but also found time to follow up the story of the Australian Paralympic team the Pararoos being defunded. This is an issue important to me, and an opportunity to follow something through which often gets forgotten in the search for the freshest story.

We covered Gaza with the Friends of Palestine Association and I worked to keep an unbiased view on a very heated topic. We also spoke with someone who has family in the region which gave a human element to the debate.

I really enjoy speaking with directors and Sophia Turkiewicz’s film Once My Mother has a fascinating story. I extended the interview by a few minutes as there was so much to cover.

