Ahoy Hoy From Woy Woy

It’s been a little over a week since I moved to Sydney and began work with the ABC so I thought I’d post an update on my new job.

I’m an overnight producer with the ABC’s international desk – one of the few 24-hour positions in the newsroom. I write international news stories that go out to the ABC radio network for any producer to grab for their bulletin. Any time you hear an international story on the news it’s probably come through that desk.

I’m also the first point of contact for the ABC’s correspondents across the globe, helping them file their content and gently poking them towards stories in their region we feel are important. You might hear my voice if you’re a night owl or an early riser as I will file my own stories when we don’t have a correspondent active in the area. I’m enjoying writing more although I’m sure I’ll get the itch to present once the Fringe or an election comes around.

I still haven’t had much of a chance to explore Sydney as I’m living out at Woy Woy near Gosford. Even though it’s an 80km journey into the CBD the train is incredibly reliable and an easy way to get into town. As an inner-city dweller I never had a need for the trains in Adelaide but now I understand why it’s so important to have a functioning rail network. There apparently was a monorail in Sydney that they dismantled, disappointing an entire generation. There’s no O-Bahn, although that always seemed like more of a Shelbyville idea.

